? asked in Science & MathematicsGeography · 1 decade ago

What lines of latitude and longtitude divide the Earth into hemispheres?

yes it is hw but i want to understand the material so i could get an A in that class

first correct answer gets ten points!

Good luck =]

6 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Best answer

    The planet's four hemispheres are shown on the map above, and each is shaded a dark gray. The Equator, that imaginary horizontal line at 0º degrees latitude at the center of the earth, divides the earth into the Northern and Southern Hemispheres. The vertical imaginary line called the Prime Meridian, at 0º degrees longitude, and its twin line of longitude, opposite the Prime Meridian at 180º longitude, divides the earth into the Eastern and Western Hemispheres.

    Therefore (with some exceptions) all countries north of the Equator are in the Northern Hemisphere, while all countries south of the Equator are in the Southern Hemisphere. In addition, all countries west of the Prime Meridian are in the Western Hemisphere while those east of the Prime Meridian are in the Eastern Hemisphere.

    Generally the Eastern Hemisphere includes most of Africa, about half of Antarctica, all of Asia and Australia/Oceania, and most of Europe. The Western Hemisphere includes about half of Antarctica and all of North and South America which includes the Caribbean and Central America as well as Greenland.

    The Northern Hemisphere includes all of North America, the northern reaches of South America, about two-thirds of Africa, all of Asia excluding (parts of Indonesia) and all of Europe. The Southern Hemisphere includes of most of South America, one-third of Africa, all of Antarctica, a small sliver of Asia (parts of Indonesia) and all of Australia/Oceania.

    There are exceptions as some continents (and their countries) based on the straight line divisions of the Equator and Prime Meridian are a part of two hemispheres.


    Direct quote from reference. Explains it so much better than I could have... And there is a map there also.

  • Jana
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    The equator is an imaginary line on the Earth's surface equidistant from the North Pole and South Pole. It thus divides the Earth into a Northern Hemisphere and a Southern Hemisphere. The latitude of the equator is, by definition, 0°. The length of Earth's equator is about 40,075.0 km, or 24,901.5 miles.

  • devita
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    Earth Hemispheres

  • 1 decade ago

    The only line of latitude that divides the Earth into hemispheres is the equator, as any other line divides it into uneven halves.

    All lines of longitude divide the Earth into hemispheres when you use the word hemisphere in the mathematical sense. Typically, however, we use the lines found at 0 degrees (through england) and 180 degrees (near the international date line) to divide the globe into what we call the East and West hemispheres.

  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • 1 decade ago


  • 5 years ago


Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.