Will Doing a Factory Reset on a PC remove company imaging from a machine?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

    Yes and no. If you do a factory restore then whatever image they had installed on the PC will be re-installed exactly as it was when it was first turned on. This includes any company branding and bloatware they installed.

    If you install your own OS onto it then some of the branding might remain like Dell will flash on the screen when it starts and it will still be recognized as a Dell laptop in the settings. But whatever applications they installed will be gone.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    If the restore partition is still on the hard disk and the PC was not created specifically

    built for the company then doing a RECOVERY should wipe out what ever was

    there and re-install the OS back to its factory state.

    If your company created an image and installed it the recovery partition may not

    exist so you would need to get a copy of the OS you wish to install.

    I would also check with your IT department to make sure that the BIOS is not

    password protected.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Just change your desktop background to whatever you want to use. It's in Settings, and shows you what is available.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    It won't do anything to remove the company logo when you boot the PC because that's embedded in the firmware.

    If the company logo is on the Windows desktop screen then you can change the Desktop screen. If you want all the Bloatware and logos gone in Windows then you'll have to do a fresh install with a Thumbdrive and an image of Windows 10 that you ripped with the Windows Media Creation tool.

    A typical factory Reset uses a Factory image of the OS with all the drivers and Bloatware loaded. You won't have to go hunting for drivers afterwards but you will have to update drivers and the O.S.

    You will have to go back to the manufacturer's website to get the drivers for the Audio, chipset, Graphics, LAN, WiFi, etc.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • 2 months ago

    If you do a full factory reset that erases the data and then make sure that any system image that was made on the computer is formatted then you're good to go the way to do this is first open up disk Management and if there is a partition that is holding a system image go ahead and delete that partition and add it back to the main partition then you can go ahead and do your factory restore

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Legally doing this can get you sued....

    you dont own the company computer and need to treat it as such.

    • Ben2 months agoReport

      I do now as it is being sold to me as it has reached the end of its Capex depreciation period. Just was wondering if performing a factory reset would wipe the company imaging so that I can use it for personal use.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    when you do a factory reset, it only brings it back to the original store-bought condition. So if anything was added to the pc after that, it will be removed, (Deleted) and not show up.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • L.N.
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    Run the online Microsoft Media Creation tool. Make a bootable USB thumb drive and do a clean install by booting from the thumb drive and deleting all the existing partitions.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.