Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkVegetarian & Vegan · 1 month ago

Why don't some vegetarian eat cheese?

Cheese is not an animal. Neither are eggs.

23 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 days ago

    Lacto-ovo-vegetarians wouldn't eat cheese if it was made using animal rennet, because that's from the digestive system of an animal.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 4 weeks ago

    Maybe they don’t like it. As a vegetarian, I eat cheese and eggs. Good source of complete protein.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Cheese comes from an animal hopefully who is treated humanely while been milked and eggs will be an animal and come from a bird who most likely was kept in a small cage to do nothing but lay eggs until it no longer is productive and is milled into chicken feed.

    • Lv 5
      1 month agoReport

      That's why I only eat eggs laid by the chickens in our backyard. 

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Both come from animals.

    I don't know why so many are talking about rennet. Rennet is only the curdling agent in cheese. You still need milk from LIVING cows, goats, sheep...

    • skeptik
      Lv 7
      1 month agoReport

      Rennet was mentioned because vegetarians who have no problem consuming dairy may still balk at the need to use a dead animal's stomach to make it.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

    Some cheeses contain rennet which is obtained from dead animals.

    Also, of course, some people (vegetarian or not) simply choose not to eat cheese - maybe they don't like it or they could be lactose intolerant. 

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • denise
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

    Some cheeses are processed with 'rennet' which is derived from animals.

    • ...Show all comments
    • skeptik
      Lv 7
      1 month agoReport

      Actually, virtually all commercially-produced cheese in the U.S. is now made with non-animal based rennet.  Not to satisfy vegetarians, but because it costs less.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 1 month ago

    maybe they think it is an animal

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 month ago

    So - do cheese and eggs grow on trees, bushes, vines . . . or in the ground?

  • oikoσ
    Lv 7
    1 month ago

    Vegans refuse to eat any animal product. Ovo-lacto-vegetarians eat eggs and cheese.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 1 month ago

    because they don't want to

    be nice

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.